Home > Uncategorized > Wine Dine 69 – I’m Back!!

Wine Dine 69 – I’m Back!!

Awite my pedigree chums!  What a few weeks it has been, first there was work (you know that thing that pays the bills, we all gotta do it!) then four weeks ago I broke my foot so been laid up on crutches for a bit!  Not as bad as first thought, but still bloody painful!  This has not affected my writing ability however, so what should be my excuse of a 3 week absence from my next post be??  Erm, errr, hmmm….nah, haven’t got one I’m afraid!  Sorry, I guess I will have to make this one super good and worth every ounce of painstakingly abhorrent wait you have had to endure!  Before I go on, I HAVE to point something out.  Decanter, which is a long running world wine magazine that you may be aware of hold a very well received and coveted awards dinner every year and this year marked the dawning of a new era – English Wine!  A small winery in the South Downs called Rigdeview won best International Sparkling over £10 – beating the likes of Moet and Tatinger along the way, as well as all the usual sparkling wines you may be familiar with.  The grapes are grown in Sussex and are run by the whole family, what an achievement!  The wine is called Grosvenor Blanc de Blancs (by the way, Blanc de Blancs means ‘white on white’ which is basically 100% Chardonnay, so its very smooth, creamy and goes down a right touch!  £21.95 from Waitrose – give it a good go and serve this instead of your usual Moet, Bollinger, Verve etc, I promise you will not be disappointed.

Ok, so lots to tell you during the course of the next few paragraphs of delectable wine sshhpeel, starting with what I have been drinking over the last tres semanas.  I cannot get enough of Italian wine, and although it’s not to everyone’s taste (remember the New World vs. Old World topic last post?) it really gets me going on a constant basis.  I know lots of people that can’t really adjust to it as it can be pretty heavy most of the time.  I shared a few glasses of some Italian Pinot Noir with my mate Dave, who is also in the trade and helps to run a brilliant wine shop in Dorking – http://www.wineunlimited.co.uk/ it’s a wonderful shop with plenty of choice, ask for Dave Hodgson if you are nearby!  So I want to try and understand your perception of Italian wine, and whether or not it is a pre-conceived one, because of the things you have heard or whether you have tasted some before and genuinely don’t like it.  Because there is so much choice and variety in Italian wine; remember its now the biggest producer of wine in the world, overtaking France a couple of years ago, and the country produces six billion litres of wine (by the way, the trade deals with litres in most cases and not bottles or cases, so basically there are 12 bottles of wine per 9 litre deal.  If you haven’t already, next time you are at Majestic, Oddbins or your local merchant, go for a bottle of something with the pink label around the top of the bottle and give it a go and tell me what you think.

Onwards and upwards then – Because I have been on some medication, I have not tasted half as much as I would usually prefer, so my palate needs a bit of an MOT and with that in mind, I am going to get back on the New World Pinot wagon.  Providing we all remember what New World means and that when I say Pinot, I mean the cracking little grape called Pinot Noir (translated as Black Pine!).  I am an unofficial ambassador for both Malbec and Pinot Noir, and I have already talked about Malbec a couple of posts ago, so this time round its all about the cushty PN!  What do you all usually think of when you see or hear Pinot Noir?  I think of light wines from France, and honestly that is about it.  I imagine that may be the same thing you all think of, but do tell me if you have other thoughts.  Pinot Noir is internationally renowned as a light red option if you prefer your wines less powerful and full of tannins and is famously grown throughout the French region of Burgundy.  Burgundy is the home of Pinot Noir and produces some of the most unreal and most expensive bottles you will have ever seen.  There is a winery called Domaine de la Romanée-Conti and it consistently produces great wine – some young examples have been sold in the recent past for £5,000 for a single case of 12!!  That said, you can spend as little as £5.99 for a really good bottle, and although we have said that Burgundy is the home, New Zealand is where it’s at for me!  The climate for one allows perfect growing conditions for the Pinot Noir grapes; cool regions such as Central Otago, which is the most southerly wine growing region in the world.  Enough of the blabbing then, onto the tasting!  All you will need is a tenner in your back burner and head out and grab a bottle of a kiwi Pinot Noir…..or, try one of these trusted friends of mine: 

Montana Pinot Noir 2009

Oyster Bay Pinot Noir 2009

Oceans Edge Pinot Noir 2008

Okiwi Bay Pinot Noir 2008

Al of these will not cost you more than ten sheets, but if you have not had kiwi pinot before, give it a go.  Also, this time round, I won’t give you any hints and tips as to what sort of things you be sniffing and tasting – your turn to tell me.  Remember as well that there are no boundaries for what you smell and taste, so if you taste Birdseye Potato Waffles, then so be it…………although, I would have a quiet word with yourself about that!

I am just getting back into this post, so I am going to keep it fairly short for this week, but now that I am back to full fitness and full ‘blogging’ capacity, I will be up and at it every week from now on.  See you next week with much more!

Wine is fun, fun is wine drink it young and when you dine!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. karen
    September 29, 2010 at 13:39

    We have friends in Otago. Perhaps a site visit is required.:)

  2. Keith
    September 29, 2010 at 14:35

    Excellent blog young Mr M 🙂

  3. Keith
    September 29, 2010 at 14:37

    An interesting use of Alanis Morrisette’s lyrics in your blog title Scott!

    • September 29, 2010 at 14:38

      Indeedy – I needed a title that would grab peoples attention and get them reading again…seems to have done the trick as 34 people have read it already!

  4. David H
    September 30, 2010 at 19:46

    Good work my friend and thanks for the link to the best wine merchant is Surrey. I cannot believe you missed out the blind tasting…..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

