Home > Uncategorized > Hello World of Wine!

Hello World of Wine!

So, here I begin my first blog…and a WINE blog at that!  I have only been in the trade for 2 and a half years now, but already, the wine I have come across, the people I have encountered and the experiences I have gained have led me onto attempting to write about it.  See, wine is a funny thing.  For many, it’s just something to drink at home on your own, with your loved one at dinner, or in the garden with friends, and at the end of the day, these are the moments where wine is enjoyed most and what shifts bottles from aisles.  But for me, it is so much more than that; it’s a world in its own right.  Wine should be drunk when you want it, not just because you are meant to!   In other words, and probably ones that actually make sense…wine can offer many people a false sense of belonging; you shouldn’t have a glass because everyone else is, you should want one because you want one…simple as that, for me at least.  I enjoy a glug of something pretty much only when I have some grub on the go, unless its a sparkler or perhaps a light white…a Sancerre maybe and I;ll be honest, I always tend to buy my wine from a merchant rather than the supermarkets. YES great deals are to be had and I do get the appeal, but for me, buying wine should be an experience and a learning one at that every time you buy a bottle.  Try popping into your local wine shop and simply ask them to recommend something to you or go in with something in your mind that you can see yourself drinking, be it with that nights dinner or just something big and warming on a cold winters evening, rarely should you find somewhere that doesn’t help you to choose your wine.  My local shop, The Good Wine Shop in Kew Village exudes this ethos in abundance.  Each time I go in I try something different, and each time I come out learning something new…just last week, I had no idea that Tauriga Nacional was the largest planted grape in Portugal!  I urge everyone I meet to take wine more seriously, but not to the point of trying to turn them into a wino who wears v-neck pullovers and drives a Volvo!  No no no!  I just want people to see what I see, smell what I smell and taste what I taste….and that is wine that makes you express yourself.  I have so much more to say that I will share, but for now, I’ll leave you with my tip of the week.  Monte de Peceguina (Fab Portugese red, £14.50) from….I’ll leave you to find out!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. June 30, 2010 at 12:49

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

